Just This Once


Praise be to Nero’s Neptune
The Titanic Sails at dawn
And everybody’s shouting
“Which side are you on?”

Bob Dylan

 

I promised myself that I would not jump into the foray that is current political discourse regarding November’s election. However, the overwhelming amount of denigration and downright slander that I have seen via social media from those who profess the name of Christ has torn at my heart and drawn me out.

So just this once…

I am fine with a Christian voting for Mitt Romney if they feel that action best reflects their commitment to follow Jesus Christ. I know sincere Christians who will do this.

I am fine with a Christian voting for Barack Obama if they feel that action best reflects their commitment to follow Jesus Christ. I know sincere Christians who will do this.

I am fine with a Christian voting for someone else (Green Party, write-in, etc.) if they feel that action best reflects their commitment to follow Jesus Christ. I know sincere Christians who will do this.

I am fine with a Christian choosing not to vote because they don’t like any of the options and view it as inconsistent with believing that Jesus is Lord. I know sincere Christians who will do this.

I am NOT fine with a Christian who insists that THEIR particular way of voting is the ONLY Christian response.

I am NOT fine with a Christian who speaks in ways that attack, vilify, demonize, or “otherize” those who happen to adhere to a different political ideology.

When this kind of close-minded partisanship takes place, the body of Christ becomes divided over politics which is a grievous sin.

I am sorry to disappoint but Jesus does not have a political party, he has a KINGDOM in which the last shall be first, the mighty will be cast from their thrones and genuine love of God and neighbor are of ultimate importance. This Kingdom has arrived. Blessed are those who seek it.

May our love of politics, ideology, philosophy, or even theology, never supersede our love of God and neighbor and his Kingdom on earth as it is in heaven.

3 thoughts on “Just This Once

  1. I agree that we should not demonize, or “otherize”(I like that!) those who vote differently.

    You are right that Jesus does not have a political party, but a Kingdom, which has come and is coming. Do you think abortion is compatible with His Kingdom, or should it be an injustice we stand against? If yes, wouldn’t this determine who we vote for, or whether we vote at all?

    1. Nate-

      You are right to suggest that abortion is incompatible with the Kingdom of God. However, this does not necessarily mean that Christians should rally around the “pro-life” candidate. The issue, for me, is very nuanced. While I am “pro-life” many “pro-life” candidates are also in favor of the death penalty and drone bombing. For me, to be “pro-life” is to also be “anti-drone.”

      My pro-life position is simple: Life is sacred. Life is so sacred that for it to be taken there must be an extremely good reason-and there are few good reasons. Convenience is certainly not a good reason.

      Furthermore, I know many Christian who believe that it is unrealistic to expect for Roe v. Wade to ever be overturned thus the church must respond not coercively, but prophetically by adopting and meeting all the needs of both babies and young, unwed mothers.

  2. You are right to say that we should not demonize people for the way they vote, but this is still “One Nation under God”. For that we are called to take a stand for. The bible says that there is a season for Everything under heaven, including war, and the end time battles have just begun.
    I don’t think you can claim to be a Christian and not be pro-life, it is totally incompatible with scripture, so I do have a problem with those who claim to be Christian, political candidates or average citizens supporting a “women’s right to choose”. The Almighty doesn’t make mistakes, human beings do! Yes we need to help the unwed mothers, and I am all for adoption, I feel God has asked me to do just that, but you don’t fix the problem by putting a band-aid over a giant gaping wound! They have to know and understand the truth, that sex outside of marriage is wrong, and to engage in such behavior is sin, and displeasing to God.

    Just because God is allowing this man to be President does not mean that it was His best for us, He works through every situation the good and the bad to bring about greater glory for Himself, so if that means allowing us to suffer the consequences of the choice we have made, then He will. Just look at Israel, His chosen nation, they have spent more time living in captivity then they ever have as free nation, and what’s more look how many have been savagely killed for no other reason and being a descendant of the God’s chosen people.

    We live in a fallen world, and people are not perfect, but God’s standards are high, especially for those of us who are Christians, we must be Jesus to the world until He returns and Satan is defeated once and for all, then and only then will there be peace on earth!

Leave a Reply

