Weekly Roundup: 9/19/13

 Likely to Make You Think Long and Hard About Your Next Haircut:

Katherine Haselden with “Girl in Transition”

“Long hair Katherine was very keen on the academic study of religion. Short hair Katherine is learning to worship again…”

Most Convicting:

Glenn Packiam with “Tweeting My Life Away”

“Social media creates the illusion of intimacy. When you see leaders’ thoughts pop up on Twitter every few hours, they feel like a part of your life. On Facebook you can read about their families, their history, even their favorite movies and music. But that doesn’t mean you know them—or that you’ve earned the right to criticize them.”

Most Helpful:

Brian Zahnd with “Reading The Bible Right”

“It’s not how many cubits of water you need to put Everest under a flood
But why the world was so dirty that it needed such a big bath
Trying to find Noah’s ark
Instead of trying to rid the world of violence
Really is an exercise in missing the point […]
Inert facts are easy enough to set on the shelf
But the Story well told will haunt you”


Simplest:

Alyssa Bacon-Liu with “I’m Listening”

“Here’s what we can do: I’ll commit to listening and then you can commit to listening and then I really do think there will be so much beautiful grace flowing around that we won’t even know what to do with ourselves besides just say I’m listening and listen some more.”

From My Blog:

“Reflections on One Year in Ministry”

“I appreciate the business-savvy leadership guru pastors like Andy Stanley and Bill Hybels, but I will no longer apologize for not being that guy. I just wish there was more room in our churches for those of us who are drawn more to the beauty of God than to leadership maxims.” 


Best Cover:

Matthew Mayfield with “Ring of Fire”

Currently on my Kindle:

20130918-154928.jpg“God’s grace is not defined as God being forgiving to us even though we sin. Grace is when God is a source of wholeness, which makes up for my failings. My failings hurt me and others and even the planet, and God’s grace to me is that my brokenness is not the final word. […] Grace isn’t about God creating humans as flawed beings and then acting all hurt when we inevitably fail and then stepping in like the hero to grant us peace—like saying, ‘Oh, it’s OK, I’ll be a good guy and forgive you.’ It’s God saying, I love the world too much to let your sin define you and be the final word. I am a God who makes all things new.”

– Nadio Bolz Weber, Pastrix

 
 
 
 
 
 

Best Tweets:

20130919-115610.jpg

20130919-115622.jpg

20130919-115637.jpg

20130919-115644.jpg

Leave a Reply

