Weekly Roundup: 1/3/14

Best List:

Shane Claiborne with “14 Hopes for 2014”

Simple living does not mean ugly living. I want to be free like the lilies and sparrows – free of consumerism and clutter and noise– and be surrounded with wonder and beauty. And I want to make cool things out of trash.

Most Honest:

Zack Hunt with “My Biggest Struggle”

I have no respect for the idolatry of intellectual ascent which dominates so much of the church. Your belief in a seven day creation, penal substitution atonement theory, or dinosaurs on the ark has absolutely no bearing on what God thinks of you.

How you care for the least of these does. If there is anything Jesus is unequivocally clear about it’s this.

Best Reminder:

Brian Zahnd with “Scripture as Witness to the Word of God”

We worship Jesus; we do not worship the Bible.

The Bible is not a member of the Trinity.

The Bible is not God. Jesus is God.

From my Blog:

“Beauty & Mystery”

Each time I receive communion and I hear these words spoken over me – This is the body of Christ broken for you, Patrick. Take and Eat. This is the blood of Jesus, spilled for you, Patrick. Take and Drink. – I always feel as though I am being led deeper into the mysteries of love and having been led into these mysteries, I can only wonder.

Best Cover:

Josh Garrels with “Grandma’s Hands”

Currently Reading:

20140103-222203.jpgDear God, I cannot love Thee the way I want to. You are the slim crescent of a moon that I see and my self is the earth’s shadow that keeps me from seeing all the moon. The crescent is very beautiful and perhaps that is all one like I am should or could see; but what I am afraid of, dear God, is that my self shadow will grow so large that it blocks the whole moon, and that I will judge myself by the shadow that is nothing.

– Flannery O’Connor (at 21 years of age)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Best Tweets:

Leave a Reply

